Department of Homeland Security

Filed in General by on February 26, 2016
Courtesy Department of Homeland Security

Courtesy Department of Homeland Security

Most people recall the color-coded threat level alert system implemented by the Department of Homeland Security in the aftermath of September 11, 2001. The system was a 5-tiered, colored alert system ranging from “Low” to “Severe.”

In 2011, the original system was replaced with the National Terrorism Advisory System (NTAS).

According to the Department of Homeland Security, the NTAS was “designed to more effectively communicate information about terrorist threats by providing timely, detailed information to the American public. It recognizes that Americans all share responsibility for the nation’s security, and should always be aware of the heightened risk of terrorist attack in the United States and what they should do.”

Are you familiar with the National Terrorism Advisory System? Below is a link to the Department of Homeland Security’s website where you can learn more about the NTAS and other DHS programs.


Information on the NTAS 

Comments are closed.

Translate »